Marc Penn

Führungskraft

Prof. Dr. med. Marc Steven Penn, FACC

CEO


Dr. Marc Penn ist CEO bei Black Beret Life Sciences (Houston, TX).  Er ist Kardiologe und Forschungsdirektor sowie der Direktor des Cardiovascular Medicine Fellowship am Summa Cardiovascular Institute, Summa Health (Akron, OH), und Professor für Medizin und integrative Medizinwissenschaften an der Northeast Ohio Medical University, wo er das Skirball Laboratory for Cardiovascular Cellular Therapeutics (Rootstown, OH) leitet.  Von 2000 bis 2011 war Dr. Penn Kardiologe an der Cleveland Clinic, wo er als Direktor der kardiologischen Intensivstation, Direktor des Experimental Animal Laboratory, Direktor des Bakken Heart-Brain Institute und Gründungsdirektor des Center for Cardiovascular Cell Therapy tätig war.

Dr. Penn absolvierte seine Undergrad- und Postgrad-Arbeit an der Case Western Reserve University, wo er 1989 einen Ph.D. in biomedizinischer Technik und 1994 den Doktor der Medizin erhielt. Seine internistische Ausbildung absolvierte er am University Hospitals of Cleveland (1994-97) und seine Spezialisierung auf Kardiologie an der Cleveland Clinic (1997-2000).  Er ist zertifizierter Internist und Kardiologe.  Im Rahmen seiner Ausbildung erhielt er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter 2000 den Joseph Cash Memorial Prize in der Kategorie Clinical Outcomes Research und 1999 den Irvine H. Page Young Investigator Award für Forschung zum Thema Arteriosklerose von der National American Heart Association. Er ist zusätzlich an der Case Western Reserve University in biomedizinischer Technik tätig und am Bioengineering Center der Cleveland State University.

Dr. Penns Forschungsarbeit führte zu zahlreichen Entdeckungen in der Kardiologie, darunter Diagnosemethoden und Medikamentenliefersysteme bei der Behandlung von Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Strategien zur Optimierung von Gen- und Stammzellentherapie bei der Regenerierung des Myokardgewebes sowie zur Neuromodulation der Herzfunktion. Dr. Penn organisierte und sprach auf internationalen Symposien und Konferenzen und ist Autor und Mitautor von Hunderten von Artikeln, Abstracts, Buchkapiteln und Büchern zu zahlreichen grundlegenden Themen sowie zu Translationswissenschaft und klinischer Medizin.

Dr. Penn ist ein aktiver Erfinder, Serienunternehmer und international anerkannter Experte für die Umsetzung der Grundlagenforschung auf klinische Populationen, um die Patientenergebnisse zu verbessern. Er generierte geistiges Eigentum in den Bereichen Diagnostik, Biologie und Geräte, das an zahlreiche Unternehmen lizenziert wird. Er ist Author von Dutzenden US-amerikanischen und internationalen Patentanmeldungen.  2006 wurde er von der Cleveland Clinic zum Innovator of the Year gekürt. Er gründete Juventas Therapeutics, Inc. (Cleveland, OH), ein Unternehmen für regenerative Medizin, das auf seinem geistigen Eigentum zu neuartigen Konzepten zur Gewebereparatur mit endogenen Stammzellen basiert, die seine Gruppe ausarbeitete.  Als CMO bei Juventas Therapeutics, Inc. (2007-2016) entwarf er die Phase II-Studien STOP-CLI, STOP-HF, RETRO-HF und STOP-PAD und führte sie durch. Er ist Mitbegründer und CMO des Cleveland Heart Lab, Inc. (Cleveland, OH), eines Diagnostikunternehmens, das Umsätze generiert, und auf mit koronaren Herzerkrankungen, Myokardinfarkten und anderen entzündlichen Erkrankungen assoziierten Markern basiert.  Er war Gründer und von 2007 bis 2010 Chairman of the Board of Directors bei Cour Pharma (Kalamazoo, MI).

Als CEO bei Black Beret Life Sciences, LLC, überwacht er die Life Science-Investitionen des Bosarge Family Office und leitet das Führungsteam zahlreicher Unternehmen, darunter Tissue Genesis, LLC, (Honolulu, HI), Advanced Regen Medical Technologies, LLC, (Newark NJ) den neuen Zuckeraustauschstoff Sola (Houston, TX) und das Stammzellbehandlungszentrum Okyanos (Freeport Bahams).  Er ist Vorstandsmitglied bei Frantz Viral Therapeutics (Cleveland, OH) und Affigen (St. Louis, MO) und berät Diasome (Cleveland, OH).

Er ist Berater und Vorstandsmitglied zahlreicher Unternehmen.  Er fungiert als PI für Athersys MultiStem in den AMI Phase I- und II-Studien (Cleveland, OH), sowie als SMAB bei NeuroTronik, Inc. (Raleigh, NC) und bei Aastrom Biosciences SAB (Ann Arbor, MI). Er war Risikopartner bei Oakwood Medical Investors (2004-2010, St. Louis, MO), ein Mitglied des Beirats bei Frantz Medical Ventures (2004-08, New York, NY) und klinischer Partner bei der Foundation Medical Partners (2009-11, New Canaan, CT), wo er die Interessen der Cleveland Clinic vertrat.  Er war Vorstandsmitglied bei CardioVIP (2012-2014, Houston, TX) und ist aktuell im Vorstand von SnappSkin (Cleveland, OH), Non-Invasix (Houston, TX) und Rhythm Therapeutics (Chicago, IL) tätig.  Von 2008 bis 2010 war Dr. Penn Senior Medical Director for Emerging Businesses an der Cleveland Clinic.  Er gilt als einer der 50 besten Ärzte in der Geschichte der Cleveland Clinic (MedCity News, Dezember 2011).

Marc Penn

Leadership

Marc Steven Penn, M.D., Ph.D., FACC

CEO


Dr. Marc Penn is the CEO of Black Beret Life Sciences (Houston, TX).  He is a cardiologist and Director of Research and of the Cardiovascular Medicine Fellowship at the Summa Cardiovascular Institute, Summa Health (Akron, OH) and Professor of Medicine and Integrative Medical Sciences at Northeast Ohio Medical University where he leads the Skirball Laboratory for Cardiovascular Cellular Therapeutics (Rootstown, OH).  From 2000-11 Dr. Penn was a cardiologist at the Cleveland Clinic where he served as the Director of the Coronary Intensive Care Unit, Director of the Experimental Animal Laboratory, Director of the Bakken Heart-Brain Institute, and the Founding Director of the Center for Cardiovascular Cell Therapy.

Dr. Penn completed his undergraduate and postgraduate work at Case Western Reserve University completing a Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering in 1989 and Doctor of Medicine in 1994. He completed his Internal Medicine training at University Hospitals of Cleveland (1994-97) and his Cardiovascular Medicine Fellowship at Cleveland Clinic (1997-2000).  He is board certified in Internal Medicine and Cardiovascular Medicine.  During his training he received numerous awards including the 2000 Joseph Cash Memorial Prize for Clinical Outcomes Research and the 1999 Irvine H. Page Young Investigator award for Atherosclerosis Research presented by the National American Heart Association. He has adjunct appointments at Case Western Reserve University in Biomedical Engineering and in the Bioengineering Center at Cleveland State University.

Dr. Penn’s research has led to several discoveries in the field of cardiovascular medicine including discoveries in diagnostics and drug delivery systems for the treatment of cardiovascular disease, including strategies to optimize gene and stem cell therapy for regeneration of myocardial tissue, as well as neuromodulation of cardiac function. Dr. Penn has organized and lectured at international symposia and conferences, and is author or co-author of hundreds of articles, abstracts, book chapters and books on a wide range of topics in basic and translation science, and clinical medicine.

Dr. Penn is an active inventor, serial entrepreneur and internationally recognized as an expert in translating basic science research to clinical populations to impact patient outcomes. He has generated intellectual property in the fields of diagnostics, biologics and devices that has been licensed by numerous companies, having authored dozens of U.S. and international patent applications.  In 2006 he was named Innovator of the Year at the Cleveland Clinic. He is the founder of Juventas Therapeutics, Inc. (Cleveland, OH) a regenerative medicine company founded on his intellectual property based on novel fundamental concepts of endogenous stem cell mediated tissue repair that his group pioneered.  As CMO of Juventas Therapeutics, Inc. (2007-2016) he designed and executed the Phase II studies STOP-CLI, STOP-HF, RETRO-HF and STOP-PAD. He is co-founder and CMO of Cleveland Heart Lab, Inc. (Cleveland, OH), a revenue stage diagnostic company based on biomarkers associated with coronary artery disease, myocardial infarction and other inflammatory diseases.  He was founder and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Cour Pharma from 2007-2010 (Kalamazoo, MI).

As CEO of Black Beret Life Sciences, LLC, he oversees the life science investments of the Bosarge Family Office and leads the executive team of numerous companies including Tissue Genesis, LLC, (Honolulu, HI), Advanced Regen Medical Technologies, LLC, (Newark NJ) the novel sugar replacement Sola (Houston, TX), and the stem cell treatment center, Okyanos (Freeport Bahams).  He serves on the BOD of Frantz Viral Therapeutics (Cleveland, OH) and Affigen (St. Louis, MO), and is an advisor to Diasome (Cleveland, OH).

He is an advisor and board member of numerous companies.  He is the PI of the Athersys MultiStem in AMI Phase I and II trials (Cleveland, OH), serves on the SMAB of NeuroTronik, Inc. (Raleigh, NC), and served on the Aastrom Biosciences SAB (Ann Arbor, MI). He was a Venture Partner with Oakwood Medical Investors (2004-2010, St. Louis, MO), a member of the Advisory Board of Frantz Medical Ventures (2004-08, New York, NY), and a Clinical Partner with Foundation Medical Partners (2009-11, New Canaan, CT) where he represented the interests of the Cleveland Clinic.  He served on the BOD of CardioVIP (2012-2014, Houston, TX) and currently serves on the BOD of SnappSkin (Cleveland, OH), Non-Invasix (Houston, TX) and Rhythm Therapeutics (Chicago, IL).  From 2008-10 Dr. Penn served as the Senior Medical Director for Emerging Businesses at Cleveland Clinic.  He is recognized as one of the top 50 doctors in the history of the Cleveland Clinic (MedCity News, December 2011).